May 12, 2017
Four candidates to stand in General Election in Burnham-On-Sea

Four candidates have this week formally announced that they are to stand in next month's General Election to become Burnham-On-Sea's next MP.

Conservative James Heappey, Liberal Democrat Tessa Munt, Labour's Andy Merryfield and the Christian Peoples Alliance's Lorna Corke were last night (Thursday) announced as the candidates.

Residents across the Wells constituency - which includes the Burnham-On-Sea area - will be voting in the election on Thursday, June 8th.

UKIP aren't contesting the seat for the election. The UKIP Wells Association Branch chair said their committee had voted unanimously not to stand a candidate because they are broadly supportive of Theresa May's Brexit plans.

The Green Party - which stood last time - has also decided not to run a candidate in this election.

Tessa Munt won the seat by 800 votes in 2010, and then lost out to Conservative James Heappey in 2015, but immediately announced her intentions to stand again.

At the last General Election in May 2015, Mr Heappey won the Wells seat with a majority of 7,585 votes, or 46.1% of the vote over Tessa Munt's 32.8%.

Pictured: From left to right - Conservative James Heappey, Liberal Democrat Tessa Munt, Labour's Andy Merryfield and Christian Peoples Alliance's Lorna Corke


Bookmark and Share

Search|Add to your Bookmarks|Send a mail from|Print this page|Back to previous page|Discuss this article

Burnham-On-Sea Seafront Webcam
Burnham-On-Sea Webcam
24-hour live pictures
See live images of the seafront and beach with Burnham's Webcam. Burnham-On-Sea webcam

Burnham-On-Sea Shops
Burnham-On-Sea Shopping Guide
Buy in Burnham!
Support local traders by shopping in town - see our A-Z index of businesses. Burnham-On-Sea shopping guide

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See us on YouTube